Cake, Men and Sprinkles

Over a year ago, I wrote a post in an old blog with this title. It received a good response, so when I shut down that blog, I decided to save the post in a text document. I feel that this post is timely for me once more. I was seeing someone for a few months, but we decided to just be friends. I’m not terribly ashamed to admit that I have had few boyfriends in my life, none in my adult life, though I’ve dated around. I’m not the type of person who can just jump into a relationship. Even at the lowest points, I just think about what things will be like when I meet that special someone. My best friend, Leila, helps me through those lonely moments. She’s very wise.

As I feel I am maturing as a person, being single doesn’t quite bother me as much now as it did when I was in my late teens and early twenties. I didn’t care about boyfriends and dating when I was in high school, but when I first went to college, I started to feel like a big loser because I was single. Now, as I am older, I know that things happen in their own time. Leila told me once, and I’m paraphrasing here, “Finding the right guy is like waiting on a cake to rise.” There is a lot of truth in this statement. The perfect guy is like the perfect cake: warm, comforting, and great with chocolate frosting.

So, what causes a cake to fall?

  1. Temperature – I once baked a cake in an oven that was to hot. Didn’t turn so well. Baking a cake in an oven with too low a temperature also causes problems. How does this translate to relationships? Well, it can go several ways. If you and your date get too hot too fast, that can really be a disaster. I went out with a guy once that kept trying to turn the temperature up, but yeah, not so much. Needless to say, that cake… flopped.
  2. Ingredients – Putting the wrong types of ingredients together can cause a cake to turn out unexpectedly. Similarly, putting the wrong types of people together can cause romantic troubles.
  3. Mixing – If ingredients are mixed incorrectly, then there is a chance that chemical reactions could occur which would cause a cake to fall. If two people, perfect though they may be for each other, are put into an undesirable situation, then the romance could be lost. Or maybe you have romantic feelings for someone and though they may not reciprocate these feelings, if you keep agitating the situation then it could cause all sorts of problems.

So, what’s the ideal situation for letting your cake rise? I’ve learned that patience is probably the best thing that you can have. Don’t open the door too soon. Don’t think you can turn the heat up and let bake faster. Just let go, let it be even. And wait. Wait for that perfect cake. The one that will absolutely take your breath away.

In the mean time, eat a tub of frosting or lick a few beaters, it’s definitely up to you. (Nat 20 on the innuendo, btw.)

Leave a Reply

