And we press on

I’ve been debating keeping the blog personal business and drama free, but I know that you all can’t get to know me without knowing a little bit about who I am, etc. You’ve seen that I work in an elementary school as an after-school assistant through a city agency. I’ve been looking for a new job since I lost my second job in August… with little success. It hurt, a lot, that I couldn’t find something good.

Two weeks ago I interviewed for a job with a prestigous non-profit organization here in Lexington. I was contacted after having applied for a similar job with the same organization in September. After having getting the rejection on that job and not hearing anything for a few months, I received an email from the COO of the organization that she’d like to discuss a new position that was coming available. I was pretty stoked, especially because she thought of me after having only briefly reading my resume months earlier.

I got a lot of support from my mom and friends and a few people on Twitter. I tried not to divulge any information about the position since it was very sensitive. My best friend and I even went to the store and I bought a pretty new blouse for the interview.  (And to celebrate a 35 pound weight loss so far!) The day came and I had a really nice interview. I got nothing but great vibes from everyone I talked to and I even got to park in a garage downtown. It was just really cool to me. Anyway, after not hearing anything for two weeks, I finally got the email today that let me down gently. I didn’t get the job.

It stings, I won’t deny it. I was super prepared for the interview, I tried to learn as much about the organization before I got there and I was really on top of all of the interviewer’s questions. In the end, though, the final two candidates were selected and I wasn’t one of them.

I appreciate all of the well-wishes, good vibes, and prayers. It’s nice to know that I have a good support network. While I am upset I didn’t get the job (or even a final interview) I know that I will find something that is right for me. It’s always darkest before the dawn, right?

Leave a Reply

