New computer win

Gentle readers,

I come to you from the glorious hamlet of Flatwoods, KY, which just so happens to be my hometown. Oh, and the hometown of some guy you may have heard of, but that’s neither here nor there. I am home this week because I work in the school district and it’s fall break! I’ve been here since Tuesday and will return to Lexington on Monday morning in time for work. It’s been really rather relaxing to be here for the last few days, even though I’ve had a sinus infection since I got here. I hate getting sick, but my mama has been taking great care of me.

As I believe I mentioned before, there was talk of me getting a new laptop. Since that post, I canceled my cable subscription, upgraded my internet to the 2.0 package and convinced my grandmother that a new laptop (and subsequently no Christmas presents) was a good idea. After talking it over with my mom, who at first was indifferent, and then got in my corner when we saw how great the laptop was, Grandma caved decided to buy it for me. I had a Wal-Mart gift card from taking back a few items last week, so I even got a new USB mouse! I really like it.

Being home has really allowed me to be introspective. I have been giving a great deal to my goals, including my 101 in 1001, which I have made very little progress on. I am committed to changing things and getting back on track. If I have learned one thing from the past couple of months, things can change in an instant, but positive thinking really works wonders. It also helps when you have wonderful people in your corner. I must remember not to take those people for granted.

As I have been home the last few days, I haven’t been online that much. I’ve been playing some World of Warcraft, but I haven’t been on Twitter or Facebook very much. My Google Reader was even at 51! Yikes! So, I’m working my way reading through everything. I hope everyone has been doing well. I’ve got WoW installing through the Battle.net game download and it’s at around 30%. I’m so excited to be playing on a laptop again. Eventually, I plan to have the hard drive of the old machine backed up so that I can save everything that was on it. That’s a plan for down the road, as I am not in any rush.

Windows 7 is taking some getting used to. I’ve seen it in practice, as the elementary school where I work has it on all of the computers in the school. So, if Kindergartners can use it, I think I can adapt. I’ve been using Linux so long now that I was craving some Windows. Scary, I know. Interesting tidbit, when I was researching laptops, I read that Acer will be allowing for dual boot of Windows 7 and Android-OS on its netbooks.

I’ll part with you all for now, just wanted to share my good news that I (finally) got a new computer. I was really needing one, and it was great of my Grandma to help me out like she did. I owe her one.

Oh, before I go, here is my new toy:

HP G72 with Intel Pentium Dual Core Processor
Windows 7 Home Premium
17.3″ screen w/ webcam and number pad!

The list goes on, but I looooove it!

Take care, y’all.

P.S. When installing World of Warcraft Wrath of the Lich King, the Arthas story runs out LONG before the installation is complete. Boo.

2 thoughts on “New computer win

Leave a Reply

