Happiness is comic book stores, zombies and Indiana Jones

This past weekend, I made a trek up to Louisville, Kentucky (about an hour from where I live) to visit my friend Jenna and her boyfriend Jeremy. They’re an adorable little geek couple, much like my BFF Leila and her boyfriend Paul. I’ve not been to Louisville too many times other than on work or school trips, so it was nice to see what the city had to offer.

When I got to town, Jenna suggested we head to Bardstown Rd, an area which offers lots of shops and restaurants. We first grabbed a bite to eat at Sol Aztecas, a local Mexican restaurant, then headed next door to The Great Escape which offers comic books, movies, CDs all to buy and trade.

The store was awesome. Comics were wall-to-wall and they had anything that you can imagine. They also have all kinds of toys, action figures and movie memorabilia. I ended up buying a couple of buttons, including a Star Wars button and a Care Bears button. I also bought a Buffy the Vampire Slayer Gelaskin for my iPhone. It’s Willow!

I love it! It’s so frakking cool. Sadly, you have to have the iOS4 to download the wallpaper, but thanks to a Google Image search I was able to find the picture.

We also went down to Role of the Die a gaming and comic book shop. There was a group there playing Dungeons & Dragons. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. They seemed like people I could get along with, geek breathren. There was a corkboard where people were looking for games to play or gamemasters were looking for players. It was awesome. If I lived in Louisville, I’d defintiely frequent.

When we got back to their apartment, we played Munchkin Bites! and Humans!!! which were both new to me, but totally awesome. I won the game of Munchkin by a landslide and Jeremy won Humans!!! (but only because I was a n00b.)

Afterward, we played Lego Rockband and totally rocked it out until bedtime. It was a blast, most definitely. We played though storymode and got the aliens to take us to the ship. Fun times.

Sunday, we watched National Treasure 1 & 2 then Raiders of the Lost Ark. Raiders is one of my favorite movies of all time and I totally idolize Indiana Jones. I’m such an Indy freak that my friend threw me an Indiana Jones themed 21st birthday party complete with fedoras and a cake with a pit of snakes. Might I add that it was the tastiest pit of snakes ever.

It was great to have a weekend away with good friends. I certainly plan on going back to find more awesome geekery in The ‘Ville.

2 thoughts on “Happiness is comic book stores, zombies and Indiana Jones

  1. >That sounds like a wonderful weekend! And now if I ever get over to Louisville I will know what stores to check out. I live within a short drive of Paducah though, so I am a decent distance away.

Leave a Reply

