Where’s the Mountain Dew?!

I didn’t much have a point to this post. I guess my posts thus far have been thematic, which is new for me since all blogs I’ve had previously pretty much were just inane ramblings. I’m going to try and keep this to a minimum, but I reckon people who write in their journals and diaries very rarely have a point to what they write. If anything blogs or journals are supposed be accounts of one’s life. Anyway, I did want to share something.

Through high school, I was very active in community service. One of my main projects was the volunteer program at a local museum in Ashland. Now, as I am “technically” an adult and have to make a “living” somehow, my time that I can devote to volunteerism has diminished. But, my current project is the Lexington History Museum. It’s a very new museum and still needs love to help it grow. So, I’ve been working on the social media. I admit that as of late, I haven’t been able to do as much as I’d like.

Last week, we started planning the third annual Scary Night at the Museum Halloween event. We more than doubled our attendance in 2009 from 2008 and hope to make it even better in 2010. I’m working on coming up with ideas for the haunted house as well as getting funding for the event. It’s one of the things I’m best at and hope to work in museum giving in the future.

I was looking through pictures from the last two years on my flash drive to get an idea of the way things looked. We had pictures of the way our crafts and food tables were set up as well as our costume contest. Not going to lie, things looked so much better last year. But here are a couple of pictures I couldn’t help, but not share.

2008
2009… Wait, what? Is that not the same costume?! Talk about Last Unicorn…
2008
Mesa hope yousa vote mesa numba one in tha costume contest. Mesa cross between Ja Ja Binkses and gangsta.
Okay, so there you have it. I’ll be keeping an eye out for The Last Unicorn this year. I can totally tell it was the same child because the woman with the Unicorn looked the same.
I hope everyone has a great weekend! Our Sunday gaming is cancelled due to evil real life, but I’m getting together with my BFF on Saturday night to hopefully play a spot of WoW and then watch a Bollywood movie.
One thought on “Where’s the Mountain Dew?!

Leave a Reply

